Second trip: Andalucía

SEMANA SANTA!

You don’t know what that means? Well, neither did I. Now I do. Very well. It’s the week of the saints, or ‘springbreak with a lot of processions’. During springbreak, I visited Andalucía. I went to Granada, Málaga and Córdoba.

First, I was planning on using BlaBlaCar and Couchsurfing, but I changed my mind. Instead, I went with BeMadrid. It was one of the best decisions I ever made.

When we arrived, it was at a five star hotel in Granada. We soon went to Alhambra. The tour was in Spanish, so I hope I remember it correctly when I say it means ‘Red Castle’ and it’s called like that because the castle lights up in red when the sun sets. I saw it and it’s magnificent.

DSC03770

When I went, I was a little bit nervous. I didn’t really know anyone; I was going alone. However, even before I left for Andalucía, I already got into contact with a girl with whom I would share the room with. In Granada I went out for dinner with people from all over the world, like Germany, Mexico and Italy. I had nothing to worry about.

The next day, Saturday, we did a walking tour in Granada. Then we left for Málaga, where I had my first swim in Spain (only after convincing myself that it couldn’t be much worse than a New Year’s Dive). There are no words for how bonding diving into the cold sea can be. Málaga was also the place where I would see my first procession.

Deze slideshow heeft JavaScript nodig.

The next day came pretty quick, since we used the night to its fullest as well. Our last day, Monday, included a walking tour through Málaga and a trip to Córdoba. The cathedral, the Mezquita, was so serene… I never got the right impression through photos. But, because I know you’re curious, here is a photo anyways:

DSC03831.JPG

While I was just looking for a place to spend my springbreak, I got so much more. I met new people, I learned to be carefree when diving in the sea, I saw new cultures and arts and I saw the religious festivals that make the holidays into Semana Santa.

And, most important of all: my roommate told me I got a little tan.

P.S.: I got back Monday night, so I will blog about the rest of the week next Sunday!

Geef een reactie

